ATVSafety.gov Banner
     Home Safety Tips National Data State Data/Laws State Legislation

West Virginia

State Laws
  • All ATVs must be titled.
  • All riders under 18 must complete a rider safety awareness course.
  • All riders under 18 shall wear helmets at all times.
  • ATV use is banned from paved roads with a center line or more than 2 lanes, except to cross and except for getting from one trail or field to another when traveling up to 10 miles no faster than 25 mph.
  • No passengers are permitted except if the ATV is designed for a passenger or if the passenger is at least age 18 and the operator is at least 18 and has a driver's license.
  • ATVs shall not be operated from sunset to sunrise without a lighted taillight and headlight.
State Agency that Regulates ATVs: State Police. View their Web Site: www.wvstatepolice.com
Training: Click here to learn how to enroll in an ATV safety training course near you!
Legislation: To view West Virginia's state ATV laws, click here



Image of West Virginia

State ATV Deaths
Total Reported Deaths (1982-2011):
*Data collection for 2008-2011
is ongoing
588
Reported Deaths (1982-2007): 444
Reported Deaths (2008-2011):
*Data collection for 2008-2011
is ongoing
144
Reported Deaths (1982-2007):
Children under 16
66

"The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) is providing the abovementioned information on state laws for your convenience. CPSC is expressing no opinion on any of these various requirements. To ensure full compliance with the laws in your state, CPSC recommends that ATV owners and riders check with their state government or legislative officials for a detailed list of off-road vehicle laws and regulations."



Go Back To The
State Page

Home | Safety Tips | National Data | State Legislation | ATV Recalls | Search | Sitemap | Contact